ISTA NEWS

ISTA’s New Early-career Webinar Series (NEWS) took place November 20th and 21st, 2020 and was a live online event showcasing the work of early career investigators in key topics in joint replacement technology.

Agenda

Friday Nov 20, 2020 10:30-10:40 EST Welcome & Introduction
10:40-12:40 EST Computational Modeling for Arthroplasty
12:45-13:15 EST Breakout Discussion
13:15-15:15 EST The Cost- & Clinical-Effectiveness of Innovations in Arthroplasty

15:20-15:50 EST Breakout Discussion
Saturday Nov 21, 2020 10:30-10:35 EST Welcome & Introduction
10:35-12:35 EST New Advances in Devices & Materials
12:40-13:10 EST Breakout Discussion
13:10-15:05 EST Joint Mechanics
15:10-15:40 EST Breakout Discussion

Friday November 20, 2020

Saturday November 21, 2020

Start & End Times by Timezone

Day 1

  • Los Angeles: Friday November 20, 7:30-12:50 PST
  • New York: Friday November 20, 10:30-15:50 EST
  • London: Friday November 20, 15:30-20:50 GMT
  • Berlin: Friday November 20, 16:30-21:50 CET
  • Mumbai: Friday November 20, 21:00-2:20 IST
  • Tokyo: Saturday November 21, 0:30-5:50 JST
  • Sydney: Saturday November 21, 2:30-7:50 AEDT

Day 2

  • Los Angeles: Saturday November 21, 7:30-12:40 PST
  • New York: Saturday November 21, 10:30-15:40 EST
  • London: Saturday November 21, 15:30-20:40 GMT
  • Berlin: Saturday November 21, 16:30-21:40 CET
  • Mumbai: Saturday November 21, 21:00-2:10 IST
  • Tokyo: Sunday November 22, 0:30-5:40 JST
  • Sydney: Sunday November 22, 2:30-7:40 AEDT

Scientific Program


Friday, November 20, 10:30 – 10:40 EST

Welcome & Introduction – Philip Noble & Peter Walker
Bruce White Memorial – Hani Haider


Friday, November 20, 10:40 – 12:40 EST
Computational Modeling for Arthroplasty

Moderators: Benjamin J Fregly, Nico Verdonschot

10:40
Opening Remarks
10:43
The Effect of Humeral Head Backside Contact on Humeral Bone Stress Following Total Shoulder Arthroplasty With a Short Humeral Stem
Amir Tavakoli; Kenneth J. Faber; G Daniel Langohr
10:49
Discussion
10:51
Humeral Bone Response and Primary Stability of Stemless Shoulder Prosthesis in Reverse Configuration – a Quantitative Computed Tomography-Finite Element Based Analysis With the SMR Stemless Design
Cristiano Pizzamiglio; Andrea Fattori; Federico Rovere; Peter Poon; Michele Pressacco
10:57
Discussion
10:59
Malalignment of Blade-Type Femoral Stems Leads to Increases in Cortical Stresses and Interface